The Winners

The winners were announced at our IN PERSON ceremony on the 18th March 2023.

All of the nominees and shortlisted candidates are AMAZING, but there can only be 1 winner per category.

Well done to everyone and thank you for a fantastic PAFTAs

Junior Hero Award

Paediatric Speciality Trainees ST1-3 and other junior doctors at SHO/Tier 1 level

Patrycja Prusak


The Kate Westwood Memorial Senior Hero Award

Paediatric Trainees/SAS/Speciality/Staff Grade and other doctors at registrar level

Justin Thuraisingham


Educational Supervisor Of The Year

Rachel Howells


Junior Nurse

Nursing staff qualified less than 2 years

Abbie Phillips


Nursing Role Model

Lindsay Thomas


Nursing Lifetime Achievement Award

Nursing staff who have made truly exceptional contributions througout their careers

Katie Hoffman


Consultant Hero

Dave Bartle


Non Clinical Staff of the Year

Courtney Bater


Healthcare & Nursing Assistant of the Year Award

Tara Johnson


The Debbie Eadie Award for Advance Nurse Practice

Natasha Weedon


MDT Hero Award

Deana Dumbreck


Teams of the year

Bramble Ward – Big Team
Eating Disorder Team (RDUH) – Small Team


We are proud of all the nominations we recieved this year and the winners are just one aspect of the PAFTAs.

When picking the shortlist and winners our committee tries hard to represent and celebrate each unit whilst also being as impartial as possible. We can only base our decisions on the nomination text that was submitted.

Some hospitals cast far more nominations than others and it impossible for us to fully mitigate the impact of this in our judging process. We are a group of volunteers who are try our best to encourage all hospitals to take part and submit many nominations.

If you feel your hospital wasn’t represented as much this year we warmly invite and urge you to join our committee and help boost the publicity around nominations in your units next year and be involved in the judging process.